mono lake committee

Defender of the Trust Dinner

Defender of the Trust Award Dinner,
wine tasting, and silent auction

Saturday, September 29, 2018
Time: 4:00pm wine tasting & silent auction, 6:00pm dinner
Place: The Mono Inn (5 miles north of Lee Vining on Hwy 395, on the lake side of the road)
Dress: Mountain festive
Cost: $150 per person

The Mono Lake Defender of the Trust Award Dinner is a celebratory evening in the company of fellow champions of Mono Lake. We begin at 4:00pm with a wine tasting and silent auction hosted by Barefoot Wine & Bubbly followed by dinner and the award ceremony with inspiring speakers and entertaining stories from 6:00–9:00pm.

The Mono Lake Committee gives the Defender of the Trust Award to individuals who have made extraordinary contributions to champion Mono Lake, its tributary streams, wetlands, and the public trust.

"The public trust ... is an affirmation of the duty of the state to protect the people's common heritage of streams, lakes, marshlands and tidelands..." —Supreme Court of California, 1983

This year we will honor hydrogeographer Peter Vorster with the Defender of the Trust Award. Peter's support of the Mono Lake Committee spans four decades—from the early days in Lee Vining galvanizing support for the lake to providing expert testimony to courts and the State Water Board, to working with the Los Angeles Department of Water & Power to implement successful stream restoration. His lake level forecast model and knowledge of California water management provided the foundational hydrologic science the Committee needed to win protections for Mono Lake, its tributary streams, and wetlands, and for decision makers to order lasting protections. Peter's extraordinary passion for the Mono Basin and the public trust has made restoration of Mono Lake and threatened aquatic ecosystems throughout California possible.

Come celebrate the progress the Mono Lake Committee has made in protection, restoration, science, and education programs at Mono Lake, and meet the people who make it all possible.


Defender of the Trust Award winners

2016: Patrick Flinn, Bryan Wilson, and Morrison & Foerster

2014: Hap Dunning

2013: Joseph Sax

2011: Mary Scoonover

2009: Richard Roos-Collins

2007: Jim Canaday

2006: Andrea Mead Lawrence

2005: Richard Riordan

2004: Dennis Tito

2003: Sally Gaines

2002: Rick Lehman, Phil Isenberg

2001: Stan Eller, California Trout

2000: George Miller

And more...



Please contact Arya Harp at (760) 647-6386 x111 with any questions, or for more information. We hope you'll join us at the dinner!

Find us on Facebook


Follow us on Twitter


Print this page

search | contact us | site map 

MLC Logo

© 2019 mono lake committee
The Mono Lake Committee is a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization.