Eight students stand in a line looking out at a very green Mono Lake with waves on it and with a tufa island and the Mono Craters in the distance, and they are all wearing cool-weather outdoor gear.

2015 Mono Lake Committee Scholarships awarded

We are proud to announce the recipients of the 2015 Mono Lake Committee ScholarshipOlivia Nelson of Lee Vining High School and Carson Bold of Mammoth High School wrote essays that won them $1,000 each to help with their education expenses.

2015-06-12 MLC Scholarship Carson Bold
Arya Degenhardt presented Carson Bold with a Mono Lake Committee Scholarship at the Mammoth High School scholarship breakfast. Photo courtesy of Susan Morning.

Students were asked to go to the shore of Mono Lake and spend at least 15 minutes sitting quietly, taking in the sights, sounds, and smells while reflecting on the question, “Why does Mono Lake matter?” Olivia and Carson wrote essays that best demonstrated a connection with the lake and the question we asked.

Olivia really got into the assignment—she literally put her feet in the water. She wrote, “Places like Mono Lake are more and more necessary to understand our connection to earth. Among all the chaos of the world, one can venture down to Mono Lake and immerse oneself into a quiet, peaceful environment and provide oneself with complete tranquility.” Read Olivia’s complete essay here.

Carson wrote, “Mono Lake matters for many reasons—its natural beauty, untapped research potential, cultural heritage, capacity to make science relate-able, and its living ecosystems. As the potential for more water resource issues arise, I hope that people will continue to honor its value.” Read Carson’s complete essay here.

The Committee support students pursuing higher education who display a personal connection with Mono Lake with two $1,000 scholarships to the applicants with the best essays. Mono County resident high school seniors who have firm plans to attend a two- or four-year college within a year of graduation qualify for the Mono Lake Committee Scholarship.

Special thanks to the Mono Lake Committee members who make the scholarship program possible. If you are interested in the scholarship program please contact Arya Degenhardt at (760) 647-6595 x111. For more information on the Mono Lake Committee Scholarship program, please visit the web page.

Top photo by Ava Stavros.